DEST Partners

Maarten Van Steenberge
Researcher, Ichthyologist

Maarten Van Steenberge manages DEST and is a researcher in ichthyology. ResearchGate profile.

Hugo de Boer
Professor in Biosystematics

Hugo de Boer coordinates DEST and leads the Scandinavian Research School in Biosystematics – ForBio

CETAF – Consortium of European Taxonomic Facilities

CETAF is the Consortium of European Taxonomic Facilities: a European network of Natural Science Museums, Natural History Museums, Botanical Gardens and Biodiversity Research Centres with their associated biological collections and research expertise.

Ana Casino
Executive Director of CETAF

Ana Casino is the Executive Director of the Consortium of European Taxonomic Facilities. In this function, she is dedicated to fostering taxonomic research and with her experience in European research projects

Marco Roos
Researcher Urban Biodiversity / Coordinator

Gergely Babocsay
Curator of Vertebrate Zoology

Gergely Babocsay has a PhD in Biology and is the curator of the Collection of Vertebrates of the Mátra Museum of the Hungarian Natural History Museum. He is a herpetologist and an expert in taxonomy, ecology and conservation.

Catherina Voreadou
Head of Education & Hydrobiology Lab NHMC

Catherina Voreadou has a PhD in Hydrobiology and is Head of Education at the Natural History Museum of Crete – University of Crete. She is responsible for the development of the face-to-face and e-learning courses of the Centre for Environmental Training of the Natural History Museum of Crete. 

Thierry Backeljau
Head of Operational Directorate – RBINS

Thierry Backeljau is acting director of the Operational Directorate Taxonomy and Phylogeny at Naterra, i.e. the former Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences in Brussels.

Frédéric Legendre
Professor associate


Frédéric Legendre ResearchGate profile

Contact us

DEST on Social Media