New Executive Committee elected at CETAF45

Wednesday, 22 May, 2019

From 15 - 16 May 2019, the CETAF45 Governing Board Meeting took place at the University of Tartu Natural History Museum and Botanical Garden. During the meeting, CETAF members elected a new Executive Committee including a new CETAf Chair for the period of four years.

We are pleased to announce that Leif Schulman, the Director of the Finnish Museum of Natural History-LUOMUS has been appointed as new Chair of CETAF. He is the museum's official representative to CETAF and as project leader of ICEDIG very familiar with all DiSSCo-linked activities. He will lead the Executive Committee together with the former Chair Michelle Price who has been elected Vice-Chair.

The members have also elected Gila Kabila Bar-Gal as Secretary (National Natural Museum Collections, Hebrew University Jerusalem, Israel), Erik Smets as Treasurer (Naturalis Biodiversity Center, Leiden, Netherlands) and as Ordinary members; Vince Smith (Natural History Museum, London, United Kingdom), Thierry Bourgoin (National Museum of Natural History, Paris, France) and Gergely Babocsay (Hungarian Natural History Museum, Budapest, Hungary).

CETAF New and Old Executive Committee

The new Executive Committee is ready to take over and continue the excellent work of the former Committee did during its term to achieve CETAF mission at the first plan.



At CETAF45, the members also welcomed a new associate member, the National Museums Scotland. Its keeper of natural sciences Nick Fraser presented the activities of their museums and was delighted to welcomed  into the CETAF community.


Logo National Museums Scotland

National Museums Scotland aims to develop, manage, conserve and interpret the national collections, to ensure their preservation and benefit to the public.

The collection of the National Museums Scotland covers both life sciences and earth sciences and represent astonishing diversity and are are comprehensive in their coverage of the natural world, although Botany is only represented by fossil plants.    

Apart from the new Executive Committee and a new member, the CETAF Governing Board also discussed new position papers, new and ongoing projects and initiatives and even heard a guest speaker from the Estonian Research Council on their approach to a consistent research agenda.

Prior to the Governing Board meeting, CETAF, together with GBIF and the University of Tartu Natural History Museum and Botanical Garden, hosted a symposium on “Persistent Identifiers in the biodiversity data life cycle”.

The Symposium explored the theoretical challenges and practical examples of using PIDs. For those that missed it, the video stream of this event is available at

Thanks to all our members who attended the Governing Board and participated in this year’s election, and we also thank our host the University of Tartu Natural History Museum and Botanical Garden represented by Urmas Kõljalg for the great organisation.


   CETAF 45 Governing Board at the University of Tartu Natural History Museum and Botanical Garden

New and former CETAF Chairs: Leif Schulman, Finnish Museum of Natural History - LUOMUS and Michelle J. Price, Conservatory and Botanical Garden of the City of Geneva